CDFA logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CDFA Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • The latest official pass-rate observation located is 63.0% from 2022, not a 2026 figure and not a first-attempt rate.
  • The issuer's homepage cites 75% passing, which is a standard, not the share of candidates who pass.
  • Property and Taxation is the largest domain at 18%; Retirement Plans and Financial Analysis follow at 15% each.
  • The exam is 150 equally weighted multiple-choice questions in 4 hours, closed book, with calculations and case-based items.

What the Published Numbers Actually Say

Candidates searching for the Certified Divorce Financial Analyst pass rate usually want one clean percentage. The honest answer is that the Institute for Divorce Financial Analysts (IDFA), which administers the credential through Certitrek, has not published a current-year figure that fits that need. The most recent official pass-rate observation located is 63.0% in 2022. It is not a 2026 number, and it is not specified as a first-attempt rate.

That distinction matters. A pass rate that blends first-time and repeat test-takers will read differently from one that isolates first attempts. Without a published methodology, the 2022 figure is best treated as a rough orientation point: a meaningful share of candidates do not pass, which is consistent with an exam that tests applied calculation and case analysis rather than vocabulary recall. For a broader read on difficulty, see our guide on how hard the CDFA exam really is.

How to cite this responsibly: If you reference a CDFA pass rate in a blog, a firm bio, or a conversation with a prospective client, say "the most recent official observation I found was 63.0% in 2022." Do not present it as a current or first-attempt statistic, and check the IDFA's annual stakeholder report for any newer disclosure.

The 75% Question: Pass Rate vs. Passing Standard

The issuer's current homepage states a passing figure of 75%. Many candidates read that as "75% of people pass." It is not that. A passing standard describes how a candidate's performance is judged; a pass rate describes how many candidates cleared the bar. Those are different measurements, and conflating them is the most common error in online discussion of this exam.

The candidate handbook adds nuance. It describes Angoff standard-setting and equating without committing to a fixed numeric percentage. In plain terms, subject-matter experts judge how a minimally qualified candidate would perform on each item, and statistical equating adjusts for differences in difficulty between exam forms. The practical consequence is that the exact raw score needed can shift slightly between forms, even if a headline number stays constant.

You will also see a practice-test threshold of 113 out of 150 cited in some preparation materials. That figure is not independent proof of a live-exam raw-score rule, and you should not build a study plan around hitting exactly 113 on a practice run. Our dedicated breakdown of the CDFA passing score walks through what is and is not confirmed.

TermWhat It MeansWhat Is Published for the CDFA
Pass rateShare of candidates who pass63.0% observed in 2022; not first-attempt, not 2026
Passing standardBenchmark a candidate must meetIssuer homepage states 75%; handbook cites Angoff/equating with no fixed percentage
Practice-test thresholdCut score on a specific practice product113/150 on the practice test; not proof of a live-exam raw-score rule
Scored vs. unscored itemsWhich questions count toward the resultAllocation not disclosed

Why a Single Pass-Rate Number Misleads

Cohort mix changes the result

The CDFA candidate pool is unusually varied. Divorce attorneys, CPAs, financial planners, mediators, and paralegals all pursue the credential, and each brings a different baseline. A CPA may find Property and Taxation familiar but struggle with Divorce Law and Legal Terminology. An attorney may be the reverse. Any aggregate rate averages across these very different starting positions, which is why your personal odds depend more on closing your own gaps than on a headline percentage.

Preparation intensity is optional

The IDFA does not require a preparatory course. Some candidates sit for the exam after a structured program; others rely on experience alone. A pass rate that mixes both groups says little about how well-prepared candidates fare. If you are weighing the cost of a prep package against exam-only registration, our CDFA certification cost breakdown lays out the options.

Equating blurs year-to-year comparison

Because the exam uses equating to keep forms comparable, a raw-score distribution in one year is not directly comparable to another. Even if a newer pass rate were published, comparing it to 2022 would require knowing the form, the cohort, and the cut-score outcome for each.

The Exam Format Behind the Statistics

The format helps explain why the 2022 observation sits where it does. The exam is 150 equally weighted multiple-choice questions delivered in 4 hours, administered at Prometric test centers per the August 2025 candidate handbook. The questions include calculations and case-based material, so you must be able to work a numerical problem or analyze a fact pattern, not simply recognize a definition.

  • Closed book: no personal study notes are permitted.
  • Calculator: an approved financial calculator is allowed, subject to the authorization letter. Confirm your model before test day.
  • Provided references: certain reference materials are supplied in the exam environment.
  • Breaks do not stop the clock: time spent away from the screen still counts against your 4 hours.
  • Accommodations: must be requested at least 30 days in advance.
Pacing math: 150 questions in 240 minutes leaves about 96 seconds per item on average. Calculation and case-based questions will run over that average, so you need quicker passes on definitional items to bank time. Practice under timed conditions, and rehearse your calculator workflow until it is automatic.

Scheduling is its own consideration. Our guide to CDFA exam dates and scheduling covers testing windows and deadlines.

Who Sits for the CDFA Exam

Eligibility screens out some candidates before they ever reach the test. You need a bachelor's degree plus three years of qualifying experience, or five years of experience without the degree, and the experience must be verified. Because every candidate has already cleared an experience gate, the pool is more seasoned than that of many entry-level credentials. That makes the roughly two-in-three outcome from 2022 more notable, since these are working professionals. The full criteria are in our CDFA requirements guide.

Employers and clients that value the credential tend to be divorce law firms, mediation practices, wealth-management and planning firms with a family-law niche, and independent practitioners who serve attorneys and divorcing couples. For a look at where the designation leads, see our overview of CDFA jobs.

The Domains That Decide Outcomes

Every question carries equal weight, so domain percentages tell you where the question volume sits. The 2024 Exam Blueprint lists 11 domains totaling 100%. Use the complete blueprint rather than the 2025 handbook's table, which omits the 8% Employee Benefits row and is therefore incomplete as a domain list. For a deeper tour, read our complete guide to all 11 CDFA content areas.

DomainWeight
Property and Taxation18%
Retirement Plans and Taxation15%
Financial Analysis and Planning15%
Divorce Law and Legal Terminology9%
Employee Benefits8%
Specialty Areas8%
Professional Responsibilities7%
Debt, Credit, and Bankruptcy7%
Social Security and Other Government Benefits5%
Spousal and Child Support and Taxation4%
Insurance and Risk Management4%

Property and Taxation (18%)

The single heaviest domain and the one where a weak showing is hardest to offset elsewhere.

  • Marital versus separate property and how classification drives division
  • Tax consequences of transferring assets between spouses
  • Basis, holding period, and after-tax comparison of assets that look equal on paper

Retirement Plans and Taxation (15%)

Dividing retirement assets is a signature divorce-planning skill and a frequent source of calculation questions.

  • How defined-contribution and defined-benefit plans are valued and split
  • Qualified versus non-qualified division mechanics and their tax treatment
  • Early-withdrawal and rollover consequences when assets change hands

Financial Analysis and Planning (15%)

Where case-based reasoning and numerical work converge.

  • Building and interpreting marital financial snapshots and budgets
  • Projecting post-divorce cash flow under competing settlement proposals
  • Time-value-of-money and present-value comparisons using your financial calculator

Together, these three domains account for 48% of the exam. A candidate who is strong across them has a solid cushion even if smaller domains like Insurance and Risk Management (4%) or Spousal and Child Support and Taxation (4%) feel shakier. That said, the smaller domains are rarely negligible: a few missed questions in each add up.

Retake Rules and What Failure Costs

Because the published pass rate leaves room for a meaningful miss rate, it is worth knowing the consequences of falling short. Exam-only registration is $495, and no member versus non-member price split is published. Exam-inclusive preparation packages are listed at $1,600 (PDF self-study), $1,675 (hardcopy/eLearning), and $1,875 (virtual training). A retake is $225.

  • Retake wait: 30 days between attempts.
  • Attempt cap: a maximum of three attempts in 12 months.
  • After a third failure: a 12-month wait before you can sit again.

Key Takeaway

The retake fee is modest relative to the first attempt, but the three-attempts-in-12-months cap and the 12-month lockout make a thin first attempt a real strategic risk. Treat attempt one as the one you intend to pass, and use full-length timed practice to confirm readiness before you book.

After you pass, the credential has ongoing costs. Annual renewal is $345. Continuing education is where you should verify current requirements directly: the IDFA's current dedicated CE policy calls for 24 divorce-related hours plus 2 ethics hours every two years, while the 2025 handbook states 30 hours. That conflict needs confirmation with the issuer. For the long-run financial picture, see whether the CDFA is worth it and the CDFA salary guide.

Sequencing Your Prep by Domain Weight

Rather than a generic schedule, tie your calendar to where the questions are. The sketch below front-loads the heavy, calculation-driven domains while knowledge is fresh, then circles back with timed practice. Adjust the pacing to your own background; a CPA might compress Week 1, while an attorney might extend it. For a fuller plan, see our CDFA study guide.

Weeks 1-2

Property and Taxation

  • Work classification and division problems daily
  • Drill transfer-between-spouses tax treatment and basis
Weeks 3-4

Retirement Plans and Employee Benefits

  • Cover plan valuation and division together, since the topics overlap
  • Include Employee Benefits (8%), the row missing from the 2025 handbook table
Weeks 5-6

Financial Analysis and Planning

  • Practice budgets, cash-flow projections, and present-value comparisons on your approved calculator
  • Add Debt, Credit, and Bankruptcy and Insurance and Risk Management
Weeks 7-8

Law, Ethics, and Specialty Areas

  • Review Divorce Law and Legal Terminology, Professional Responsibilities, and Specialty Areas
  • Finish with full-length timed practice exams at the CDFA practice test site

If you want a condensed refresher in the final days, our CDFA cheat sheet distills the must-know facts, though remember that no personal notes are allowed in the exam room itself. When you are ready to measure progress, take a timed run on the practice exams and review every miss by domain.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the current CDFA pass rate?

The latest official pass-rate observation located is 63.0% in 2022. It is not a 2026 figure and is not identified as a first-attempt rate, so treat it as a rough orientation point rather than a current statistic.

Does the 75% on the IDFA homepage mean 75% of candidates pass?

No. It refers to the passing standard the issuer states, not the percentage of candidates who pass. The handbook describes Angoff standard-setting and equating without a fixed numeric percentage, so the exact raw score required is not published as a simple rule.

Is 113 out of 150 the score I need on the real exam?

That threshold applies to a practice test and is not independent proof of a live-exam raw-score rule. Use it as a readiness signal on practice materials, not as a guaranteed cut score. See our passing score guide for details.

How many times can I retake the CDFA exam?

You must wait 30 days between attempts, and you can sit a maximum of three times in 12 months. After a third failure, there is a 12-month wait. Each retake costs $225.

Which domain should I prioritize to improve my odds?

Start with Property and Taxation at 18%, then Retirement Plans and Taxation and Financial Analysis and Planning at 15% each. Together they make up 48% of the exam, and all three lean on calculations and case-based reasoning.

The takeaway from the data is less about a single percentage and more about preparation. With a 2022 observation of 63.0%, a 150-question closed-book format, and a retake cap, the sensible approach is to prepare thoroughly for the first attempt, weight your time toward the largest domains, and verify any changing policy details directly with the Institute for Divorce Financial Analysts. For definitions and background on the credential itself, start with what the CDFA is.

Ready to pass your CDFA exam?

Put this into practice with free CDFA questions across every exam domain.